Back to Storefront
Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn CD
Roll Over Image to Zoom
Email a Friend

Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn CD

  • Add to Cart
The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn is the eleventh release in the Dagger Records authorized ‘bootleg’ recording series. Live At Woburn presents a 100% previously unreleased concert recording capturing The Jimi Hendrix Experience in concert at the Woburn Music Festival on July 6, 1968.

The Woburn Music Festival was one of Britain’s first large scale, open-air rock music events. Staged by brothers Richard “Rik” and John Gunnell, who were well respected individuals in the burgeoning London music scene where they were heavily involved in many aspects including band managed, show promoters and club owners. Rik in particular, who owned three fashionable 1960’s London nightspots—the Ram Jam Club, Flamingo, and Bag O’ Nails—presented authentic, first generation American icons like John Lee Hooker and Otis Redding and some of the brightest examples of a swelling wave of emerging British talent such as The Rolling Stones, Jack Bruce and Georgie Fame. Item #: JHCD024
Release Date: August 3, 2010
Record Label: Dagger Records / Experience Hendrix / Legacy Recordings
Format: CD
Discs: 1

Track Listing:
1. Introduction - (1:07)
2. Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band - (1:11)
3. Fire - (4:19)
4. Tax Free - (10:11)
5. Red House - (11:30)
6. Foxey Lady - (4:55)
7. Voodoo Child (Slight Return) - (6:38)
8. Purple Haze - (8:10)

Technical Note:
Like many of the live releases issued as part of the Dagger Records series, The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn was not professionally recorded using multi-track technology. It was instead drawn from a recording made from the stage soundboard. As a result, the recording is not without its share of flaws and technical limitations. The recording is raw and occasionally overdriven but it effectively presents all of the voices and instruments onstage. In addition to the aforementioned late start on “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band,” the ending of “Tax Free” was lost when the tape ran out. Fortunately, the tape spool was rethreaded and recording resumed for the start of “Red House”. It is entirely possible that another song was performed and not recorded but there is no firm evidence to definitively confirm this either way.

As noted, the buzzing, crackling and static not otherwise emanating from Jimi and Noel’s battered amplifiers are part of this historical document. Its flaws notwithstanding, this recording represents the only known documentation of this significant performance. The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn, despite its technical imperfections, supplies yet another fascinating piece to the Hendrix puzzle.
You may also be interested in:
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At The Isle of Fehmarn CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live In Ottawa CD
  • Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Music CD
  • Jimi Hendrix: The Baggys Rehearsal Sessions CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Paris 1967/San Franciso 1968 CD
Be the first to review this product. Post Review.