Back to Storefront
Jimi Hendrix Experience: Paris 1967/San Franciso 1968 CD
Roll Over Image to Zoom
Email a Friend

Jimi Hendrix Experience: Paris 1967/San Franciso 1968 CD

  • Add to Cart
Part one of this collection features The Experience’s October 9, 1967 performances at Paris’ famed L’Olympia Theatre. These raw, direct to two-track live recordings made for French radio document The Experience's triumphant return to Paris almost one year to the date of their 1966 showcase as a support act for Johnny Hallyday. This return engagement saw an exuberant, sold out house roared their approval throughout the evening. The L’Olympia performance came just eight days after sessions for what would become Axis: Bold As Love had resumed at London's Olympic Studios on October 1, 1967. The Experience was in top form on this evening, roaring out of the gate with "Stone Free" and followed, much to the frenzied delight of the audience, with vibrant renditions of "Hey Joe" and "Fire."

From Paris we move to San Francisco and The Winterland Ballroom. In the interim, the Experience had completed Axis: Bold As Love and had come to San Francisco to kick off their US tour in support of the album. Impresario Bill Graham had booked the group to perform eight concerts over four consecutive nights. The Experience performed at the Fillmore Auditorium on February 1st while The Winterland Ballroom hosted the performances on the 2nd, 3rd and 4th. Each of the eight performances were sold out. Item #: JHCD025
Release Date: October 6, 2010
Record Label: Dagger Records / Experience Hendrix / Legacy Recordings
Format: CD
Discs: 1

Track Listing:
Live At The Olympia Theater
Paris, France, October 9, 1967
1. Stone Free - (3:40)
2. Hey Joe - (4:22)
3. Fire - (3:29)
4. Rock Me Baby - (5:03)
5. Red House - (7:49)
6. Purple Haze - (7:26)
7. Wild Thing - (5:56)

Live At The Winterland Ballroom
San Francisco, CA. February 4, 1968 [Second Show]
8. Killing Floor - (4:05)
9. Red House - (5:42)
10. Catfish Blues - (11:43)
11. Dear Mr. Fantasy [Part 1] - (5:10)
12. Dear Mr. Fantasy [Part 2] - (7:34)
13. Purple Haze - (5:00)

Authentic Hendrix Item Number: 800-001-021
You may also be interested in:
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At The Isle of Fehmarn CD
  • Jimi Hendrix: The Baggys Rehearsal Sessions CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live In Ottawa CD
  • Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Music CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live at the Oakland Coliseum CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Woburn CD
  • Jimi Hendrix Experience: Live At Clark University CD
Be the first to review this product. Post Review.